My thoughts

I think the thing that sucks the most about being sick is the isolation you feel. Especially when you’re 19 and “can’t have anything SERIOUSLY wrong with you.” It’s hard to connect to people who haven’t been in a situation where you just constantly don’t feel right. It’s hard to explain to someone who isn’t going through it..especially college aged kids who are (for the most part) ignorant to diseases and chronic sickness. To them when I say, “I’m sick” they respond with “that sucks come out and party with us.” Being sick to them is a cold, strep throat, maybe pneumonia. For awhile I didn’t tell anyone I was sick. It took me four months to tell just the people I see on a daily basis. And for a long time I didn’t know what I had so I would just simply say I’m really sick but I don’t know what it is. Of course that sounds made up or like I’m looking for attention so it was easier to just not say anything.

I miss the days where “being sick” meant that I just had strep. How easy is that.. 10 days of amoxicillin and you’re good. I wish I could go back to when my biggest worry was studying for a Calc 2 exam or finding something to wear to a party. I get so jealous when I see snapchat stories or Instagram posts of normal college activities. I hope that one day that will be me again, being a normal college student.

The one thing I have learned that college won’t teach anyone is that health is truly a gift, it is never a given. Your whole world can change dramatically one day by something as small as a tick. Or you can get in a car accident and never be able to walk. Things happen and it can ALWAYS happen to you. If you can walk, see, hear, talk, breathe on your own, live normally, then you have so much to be thankful for. Being sick has made me realize that although there are people out there in better condition than me, there are thousands of people way worse than me and I am thankful that I can see and walk and talk. Life is so precious and most people don’t truly realize this.

☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️☀️

my_life_isnt_perfect_but_im_thankful_2013-10-11_14-37-25

Leave a Reply

